Central University of South Bihar (CUSB) – Central University of Bihar (CUB) was established under the Central Universities Act, 2009 (Section 25 of 2009). The University name changed to Central University of South Bihar (CUSB) by the Central Universities (Amendment) Act 2014. CUSB is an institution of higher learning in the state of Bihar. Currently, there are two campuses of the University, Patna Campus at Birla Institute of Technology and Gaya Campus at Vinova Nagar, Chandauti. CUSB campuses are soon to shift to the permanent campus which is Panchanpur, 12kms away from Gaya.

The University journey started in 2009 from the premises of BIT Patna campus. Master’s programme in Development Studies was offered by the university initially. Currently, the university is offering four Integrated Undergraduate (UG), 11 integrated M.Phil – PhD, and 16 Post Graduate programme. The University offers hostel facilities for girls and boys. CUSB has a library with 20,000 books including both campuses to support academic curricula, research and teaching in various sciences and social science subjects. For more information read the complete article.

Central University of South Bihar (CUSB)

PhD programmes were introduced in all centres/departments in accordance with UGC (Minimum Standard and Procedure for Award of M.Phil / PhD Degree) Regulations, 2016 from the academic year 2016-17.  Two year M. Ed and one year LLM programmes were also started from academic session 2017-18. The University has launched the School of Management. The University is launching Master of Commerce and Master of Business Administration programme in this year. CBSU is also launching Post Graduate programmes in history, Social Work, Physics and Chemistry. Check the table for the Central University of South Bihar (CUSB) semester calendar 2018-19.

Odd Semester Calendar – 2018-19

July- December, 2018 1st / 3rd / 5th / 7th / 9th Semester
CC / DC Meeting 09 Jul 2018
Students Orientation 13 to 14 Aug 2018
Students Registration (Old Batch) 13 to 17 Aug 2018
Students Registration (New Batch) 13 to 20 Aug 2018
Teaching Schedule and Continuous Evaluation* 13 Aug to 12 Dec 2018
QP Moderation for End Sem Exam Mid Sep to Mid Dec 2018
Students Evaluation of Courses 03 to 07 Dec 2018
End Sem Exam 13 to 24 Dec 2018
BoE Meetings 26 to 28 Dec 2018
Declaration of Results 31 Dec 2018 to 11 Jan 2019
Winter Vacation for Students 25 Dec to 01 Jan 2019

Even Semester Calendar- 2018-19

January – June, 2019 2nd / 4th / 6th / 8th / 10th Sem
CC /DC Meeting 02 Jan 2019
For Students 4th / 6th / 8th / 10th Sem
Students Orientation 02 Jan 2019 (Forenoon)
Students Registration 02 to 04 Jan 2019
Teaching Schedule and Continuous Evaluation 02 Jan to 09 May 2019
For Students of 2nd Sem
Students Orientation 02 Jan 2019 (Afternoon)
Students Registration 02 to 04 Jan 2019
Teaching Schedules and Continuous Evaluation 02 Jan to 09 May 2019
3rd Convocation 01 Feb 2019
QP Moderation for End Sem Exam Mid Feb to Mar 2019
Students Evaluation of Courses 06 to 09 May 2019
End Sem Exam 15 to 25 May 2019
BoE Meetings 28 to 30 May 2019
Declaration of Results 31 May to 10 Jun 2019
Summer Vacation for Students 01 Jun to 14 Jul 2019
Summer Vacation for Teachers 01 Jun to 09 Jul 2019
    • Click Here to download Central Univerity of South Bihar Academic Calendar.

Quick Link

Central University of South Bihar (CUSB): Schools and departments / Centres

The Central University of South Bihar has total 14 academic schools. Currently, 10 schools of studies are active. Here you can check the make of CUSB Schools name and the name of department and centres organized by the schools.

  • Schools of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
    • Department of Computer Science
    • Department of Mathematics
    • Department of Statistics
  • School of Physical and Chemical Sciences
    • Department of Chemistry
    • Department of Physics
  • School of Earth, Biological and Environmental Sciences
    • Centres for Biological Sciences
      • Bioinformatics Programme
      • Biotechnology Programme
      • Life Science Programme
    • Centre for Environmental Sciences
  • School of Technology
  • School of Health Sciences
  • School of Social Sciences and Policy
    • Centre for Development Studies
    • Centre for Economic Studies and Policies
    • Centre for Sociological Studies
    • Centre for Political Studies
    • Centre for Historical Studies and Archaeology
  • School of Human Sciences
    • Centre for Psychological Sciences
  • School of Languages and Literature
    • Centre for Foreign Languages
    • Centre for Indian Languages
      • Hindi
      • Urdu
  • School of Media, Arts & Aesthetics
    • Centre for Mass Communication and Media
  • School of Management
  • School of Education
    • Centre of Education
  • School of Vocational Studies
    • Centre for Vocational Studies
  • School of Law and Governance
  • School of Agriculture and Development

Central University of South Bihar (CUSB): Courses Structure

The University offers various courses of studies under the school of studies. Check the structure of the courses offered in the schools, and departments.

School / Department Courses
School of Education M.Ed
School of Law and Governance LLM
Department of Political Studies MA in Political Science and International Relations
Department of Economic Studies and Policy MA in Economics
Department of English MA in English
Department of Hindi MA in Hindi
Department of Psychology MA in Psychology
Department of Sociological Studies MA in Social Work
MA in Sociology
Department of Development Studies MA in Development Studies
Department of Historical Studies and Archaeology MA in History
Department of Mass Communication and Media MA in Journalism and Mass Communication
Department of Bioinformatics M.Sc. in Bioinformatics
Department of Life Science M.Sc. in Life Science
Department of Biotechnology M.Sc. in Biotechnology
Department of Environmental Science M.Sc. in Environmental Science
Department of Statistics M.Sc. in Statics
Department of Computer Science M.Sc. in Computer Science
M.Tech in Computer Science
Department of Mathematics M.Sc. in Mathematics
Department of Chemistry M.Sc. in Chemistry
Department of Physics M.Sc. in Physics

Central University of South Bihar (CUSB): Fee Structure

Here students can check the revised fee structure of Central University of South Bihar for Admission 2018. Check the image for the fee structure.

Official Website: www.cusb.ac.in