About NIT Hamirpur

National Institute of Technology Hamirpur is one of the twenty NITs of the country, established in 1986 as Regional Engineering College, as a joint and cooperative enterprise of the Govt. of India and Govt. of Himachal Pradesh. The goals of the institute as embodied in the logo are truly remarkable in their scope of vision. The college provide Undergraduate, Postgraduate and Doctorate Education in Engineering, Sciences & Humanities; fostering the spirit of national integration among the students, a close interaction with industry and a strong emphasis on research, both basic and applied. It has been given the status of Deemed University.


The campus is situated at Anu in Hamirpur district of Himachal Pradesh and is 4 Kms from main bus stand of Hamirpur on Hamirpur – Toni Devi road. The city of Hamirpur is well connected with the rest of the country by road. The nearest broad gauge rail head is at Una (Himachal Pradesh) which is 80 Kms from Hamirpur. The campus has a picturesque surrounding facing snow clad Dhauladhar mountain ranges. Lush green pine trees surround it. The campus is well laid with roads, electric installations, water supply, underground drainage, etc. The place has healthy climate with moderate temperature ranging from 1oC to 38oC with an altitude of 900 meters.

The Organisational Chart
NIT Hamirpur


Name Designation Telephone E-mail
Office Residence
Prof. R.L. Sharma Director Incharge 222258




[email protected]
Dr. A.S. Singha Registrar 224390


254121 [email protected]
Dr. V. K. Sarda Dean P&D 254320 254321 [email protected]
Dr. Sushil Chauhan Dean Academic 254524 254525 [email protected]
Dr. Y.R Sood Dean IRD & C 254522 254523 [email protected]
Dr. Raman Parti Dean Student Welfare

& Alumni Affairs

254326 254327 [email protected]
Dr. Rakesh Sehgal Dean Faculty Development 254722 254723 [email protected]
Dr. R K Sharma Training & Placement 254590


254325 [email protected]
Dr. Rajesh Sharma Chief Warden Hostel`s 254730 254731 [email protected]
Sh. D. S. Jaswal Sr. Librarian 254170 223674 [email protected]
Sh. R. K. Jamalta Associate Professor 254570 254571 [email protected]
Dr. Piar Chand NCC Officer 254124 223468 [email protected]
Dr. R. K. Dutta S.E. Construction Cell 254330 254425 [email protected]
Er. Suresh Walia XEN -cum-Estate Officer 254250 [email protected]


Country Code:91

STD: 01972

Facsimile: 223834

Telegraph: HAMIRPUR




PIN 177 005


List of MOUs

This Institution has signed the following MoUs as under with various Institution in the country and Foreign Universities for enhancing the academic, research & consultancy activities etc.

<td >Sr. No.

Name of Institution with whom MoU signed

Date of signing the MoU

1 TIFAC New Delhi 10-02-2004
2 NIT Srinagar (J&K) 02-12-2004
3 HPSEB Shimla (TIFAC-Core) 06-01-2006
4 University of Technology Sydney (UTS) 02-11-2006
5 Small Industries service Institute, Chambaghat, Solan (HP) 20-04-2007
6 Sheffield Hallam University, Howard Street, Sheffield S 1 1 WB 25-02-2008
7 Amritsar College of Engg. & Technology, Jalandhar G.T. Road Amritsar 23-12-2008
8 L R Institute of Engg. & Technology, Rajgarh Road, Solan (HP) 27-12-2008
9 DAV Institute of Engg. & Technology, Jalandhar (PB) 03-01-2009
10 Avake Technology (India) Pvt. Ltd., A-39, Sector 58, Noida (UP) 07-01-2009
11 Advance Technology, SCO 160, Ist Floor, Sector 24D, Chandigarh 08-01-2009
12 Four Universities of Finland

a) Helsinki University of Technology, Finland

b) University of Oulu Finland

c) Tampere University of Technology Finland

d) University of Tampere, Finland

13 Laurea University of Applied Sciences, Finland 26-11-2009
14 Commonwealth Science & Technology Academy for Research (C-STAR), Chennai (TN) 05-03-2010
15 SASE Lab. (DRDO), Ministry of Defense, Sec- 30, Chandigarh 11-03-2010
16 Christopher Charles Benninger Architexts Pvt. Ltd, House. 53, Sopan Bagh, Balewadi, Pune-41045 14-03-2010
17 Solar Energy Centre of Ministry of New & Renewable Energy, Lodhi Road, New Delhi- 110003 02-06-2010
18 Eternal University, Akal College of Engineering & Technology, Baru Sahib, Himachal Pradesh – 173101 16-07-2010
19 Alliance of 4 Universities (A-4U) of Barcelona Spain. 24-11-2010
20 NIT, Jalandhar (PB) 30-12-2008
21 Institute of Management & Technology Gorhgarh (Indri), Kamal (Haryana) 26-02-2009
22 Sardar Valabbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat, Gujrat 09-02-2009
23 PGP College of Engineering and Technology, Namaldtai, Tamilnadu 20-09-2010
24 The H.P. Energy Development Agency (Hereinafter Referred as HIMURJA) 29-07-2010

Click Here to go Back to NIT Hamirpur

Leave a Reply