About National Institute of Technology,Jalandhar

NIT Jalandhar Campus Photo

Dr B R Ambedkar National Institute Of Technology,Jalandharwas established in the year 1987 as Regional Engineering College and was given the status of National Institute of Technology (Deemed University) by the Government of India on October 17, 2002 under the aegis of Ministry of Human Resource Development, New Delhi. Now the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India has declared the Institute as “Institute of National Importance” under the act of Parliament-2007.The Institute has been placed amongst top 50 engineering institutions of the country as per the survey conducted by Mint-C Fore in the year 2008. A large number of reputed Industrial houses in the country visit the Institution and select the final year students as Engineers/ Management Trainees. The highest pay package offered to the B Tech students (Batch 2005-2009) has been Rs 7.2 lakhs per annum by M/S NTPC Delhi.
As one of the National Institutes of Technology (NIT), the Institute has the responsibility of providing high quality education in Engineering, Technology and Sciences to produce competent technical and scientific manpower for the country. The Institute offers B Tech, M Tech, M Sc & Ph D programmes in the several disciplines of engineering, technology and Sciences.


The Institute campus is wide spread over an area of 154 acres. It has many topographical features, various buildings of different nature with clean and wide roads surrounded by a green belt.
The campus area has been broadly divided into different functional zones:

    • Institution zone for teaching departments/centers/administration
    • residential zone for the faculty and staff
    • students’ hostel zone

Other amenities on the campus include a guest house, a community centre, a dispensary, shopping centre, banks, post office, sports complex, playgrounds, new Tennis courts, Basketball courts, Volleyball courts, open air theatre, central seminar hall and night canteen etc.



To become a leading and unique institution of higher learning, offering state-of-the-art education, research and training in engineering and technology to students who are able and eager to become change agents for the industrial and economic progress of the nation. To nurture and sustain an academic ambience conducive to the development and growth of committed professionals for sustainable development of the nation and to accomplish its integration into the global economy.


To build a rich intellectual potential embedded with interdisciplinary knowledge, human values and professional ethics among the youth, aspirant of becoming engineers and technologists, so that they contribute to society and create a niche for a successful career.

Quality Policy

  • To develop technical human resource of excellence suitable for global requirements.
  • To ensure good quality academic and industrial research programmes in different areas of engineering and technology.
  • To generate industry-institute synergy for shaping technical education to meet the requirement of industry.


Dr B R Ambedkar National Institute of Technology Jalandhar is an autonomous Institution under the aegis of Ministry of Human Resource Development, Govt. of India, New Delhi. The Institution functions under the overall control and guidance of the Board of Governors, the Director being the Executive Head of the Institute. The other administrative bodies of the Institute are the Senate, the Finance Committee, and the Building and Works Committee – the Registrar, being the Secretary. There are five Deans viz. Academic Programmes, Research and Consultancy, Infrastructure Planning and Development, Students Welfare, Faculty Welfare.

About City

Area: 3401 square kms;
Population: 19,53,508 (2001 census)
Altitude: 228 m above the Sea Level
Climate: Mostly Dry
Rainfall703 mm
Languages: Punjabi, Hindi, English
Festivals: Harballabh Sangeet Mela, Baba Sodal Mela, Baisakhi Festival
STD Code: 0181

The climate of this district is on the whole dry except during the brief south-west monsoon season. The year may be divided into four seasons. The cold season is from the middle of November to early part of March. The succeeding period upto the end of June in the summer season, July, August and first half of September constitute the South-West monsoon season. The period from middle September to the middle of November is the post monsoon or transition period. Although tehsil Phagwara is in the Kapurthala District, for the description of climate the same has been included in the Jalandhar district.

Click Here to go Back to NIT Jalandhar
ATSE 2019 Scholarship Worth 12 Lac for Class 4 to Class 12 Apply Now!!

Leave a Reply