The University of Rajasthan consists of the following components:
(a) Constituent Colleges
(b) Post-graduate Teaching Departments
(c) Research Centres

(a) Constituent Colleges

Undergraduate teaching is imparted in the 6 constituent colleges of the University, by the teaching faculty appointed in the University Post Graduate Departments:

(i) University Commerce college
(Commerce Faculty)

(ii) University Law College (Law Faculty)

(iii) University Law College II
(Law Faculty Evening College )

(iv) University Maharani college
(Multi-faculty College for Women)

(v) University Maharaja College (Science Faculty)

(vi) University Rajasthan College
(Arts and Social Sciences)

Looking to the needs and demands of students, the University started evening courses at Rajasthan College and Commerce College on self-financing basis.

All the constituent colleges provide library and sports facilities and motivate the students to join NCC and NSS programmes. Besides these, the colleges organize seminars, workshops, lectures and discussions to strengthen academic inputs.

(b) The P.G. Teaching Departments

P.G. Teaching Departments are in existence in Faculties of Arts, Science, Social Science, Commerce, Law, Management, Fine Arts, Education and Library Science. Admissions to the P.G. Courses offered are based on entrance tests and merit. Some of the P.G. Departments run need-based self-financing courses also. Many eminent scholars have been teachers at the P.G. Departments. The well-known personalities include: Professors Raja C h e l l i a h , R a j K r i s h n a , L . S . R a m a s w a m i , C . V. Subramaniam, M.V. Mathur, P.N. Srivastava, R.K. Kaul, R.C. Mehrotra, Yogendra Singh, G. Ranganathan, Satish Chandra, Dayakrishna, Om Prakash, Iqbal Narain, G.C. Pande, B.L.Saraf, S.Loknathan, S.P.Verma, C.P.Bhambhri, V. R. Mehta, Y.K.Alagh, C.Rangarajan etc.

Research support and Special Assistance have been made available to some departments by the UGC. A couple of departments are actively engaged in innovative research, and they are recognized for the FIST, COSIST and DST DAAD programmes of the University Grants Commission and the DST. The researches done by the faculty members have been in evidence by publications of articles in reputed journals. Some teachers have been honoured with international and national awards and citations.

Depending upon the disciplinary advancement needs of the students and the demands of society, syllabi have been reviewed from time to time. The process of globalization has also prompted formulation of new courses and this may go a long way in providing jobs to the students. Some of the new courses are as follows:

The Post-Graduate Courses include:
(i) Biotechnology
(ii) Microbiology
(iii) Information Technology
(iv) Journalism & Mass Communication
(v) Finance Control (vi) Management (vii) Social Work
(viii) Engineering Physics (ix) International Business (x) Environmental Science (xi) European Studies

The Under-Graduate Courses include:
(i) Computer Applications (ii) Business Administration (iii) Fine Arts
(iv) Music
(v) Library & Information Science
(vi) Physical Education

The Five Year Integrated Courses include:
(i) Dual Degree B.Tech-M.Tech in converging Technologies
(ii) B.A. LL.B. Hons.

(c) Research Centres

The University also provides opportunities to the deserving students and teachers to undertake research in the fields of their specialization. For this purpose, Research Centres were established. These research Centres have strengthened research, and some of them offer M. Phil Programmes of study. The following Centres are in existence:

1. Centre for Jain Studies
2. Centre for Jyotirvigyan
3. Centre for Converging Technologies
4. Centre for Computer Science & Information Technologies
5. Centre for Development of Physics Education
6. Centre for Non-Conventional Energy Resources
7. Centre for Water Management & Research
8. Indira Gandhi Centre for Human Ecology, Environmental and Population Studies
9. Centre for Nehru Studies
10. Shri Guru Gobind Singh Centre for Sikh Studies
11. Centre for Ambedkar Studies
12. Centre for Life Long Learning
13. Centre for Buddhist Studies
14. Centre for Gandhian Studies
15. Centre for the Study of Local Self -Government
16. Centre for Rajasthan Studies
17. Centre for the study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy
18. Centre for Women Studies
19. South Asia Studies Centre
20. Social Science Research Centre
21. Centre for Mass Communication
22. Centre for Museulogy and Conservation

Click Here for Rajasthan University Home Page

Leave a Reply