West Bengal is a state of India and located in the eastern part of India. Kolkata is the capital of the state. Kolkata has played an important role in the development in the development of modern education system. Kolkata was the gateway to the western model of education in India. The missionaries and reformists had established many of the first schools and colleges in Kolkata. According to 2011 Census, the literacy rate of the state is 76.26 %. The literacy rate of the state is above the national average literacy 74.04%. In the term of literacy the state rank 20th among the 36 state and union territories of India. Check the article for more information.

University in West Bengal

There are total 33 Universities in West Bengal, out of which one is central university, 24 state universities, 07 private universities and 01 deemed university. Besides these, there are three regional centres of IGNOU at Siliguri, Kolkata, and Raghunathganj and one Sub – Regional Centre of IGNOU at Darjeeling. There are many prestigious institutes in West Bengal for higher education like – Presidency College, Indian Institutes of Management Calcutta (First IIM), Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur ( first IIT), Jadav University (First to introduce chemical engineering and numerous other interdisciplinary studies in India) and many more. The Calcutta Medical Colleges in Asia was established in the year 1835.

List of  Universities in West Bengal

University Name Established City / Town More Info
Adamas University 2014 Barasat Click Here
Amity University, Kolkata 2015 New Town, Kolkata Click Here
Aliah University 2007 Kolkata Click Here
Bidhan Chandra Krishi Viswavidyalaya 1974 Haringhata Click Here
Bankura University 2013 Bankura Click Here
Cooch Behar Panchanan Barma University Cooch Behar 2013 Click Here
Diamond Harbour Women’s University Diamond Harbour 2012 Click Here
Jadavpur University Kolkata 1955 Click Here
JIS University Agarpara Kolkata 2015 Click Here
Kalyani University Nadia 1960 Click Here
Kazi Nazrul University Asansol 2012 Click Here
Netaji Subhas Open University Kolkata 1997 Click Here
Neotia University Kolkata 2015 Click Here
Presidency University Kolkata 2010 Click Here
Rabindra Bharati University Kolkata 1962 Click Here
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda University Belur 2005 Click Here
Seacom Skills University Birbhum 2014 Click Here
Sidho Kanho Birsha University Purlia 2010 Click Here
University of Burdwan Bardhaman 1960 Click Here
University of Calcutta Kolkata 1857 Click Here
University of Engineering & Management New Town, Kolkata 2014 Click Here
University of Gour Banga Malda 2007 Click Here
University of Kalyani Kalyani 1960 Click Here
University of North Bengal Siliguri 1962 Click Here
Uttar Banga Krishi Vishwavidyalaya Cooch Behar 2001 Click Here
Vidyasagar University Medinipur 1981 Click Here
Visva-Bharati University Santiniketan 1951 Click Here
West Bengal State University Barasat 2007 Click Here
West Bengal University of Technology Kolkata 2001 Click Here
Techno India University Kolkata 2012 Click Here
St. Xavier’s College Kolkata 2006 Click Here