Netaji Subhas Open University – was established in 1997, Kolkata, West Bengal. NSOU is the premier State Open University in India. The University is recognized by University Grant Commission (UGC) and Distance Education Council (DEC). At present, the University is continuing its work with 120 Study Centres. Netaji Subhas Open University offers admission to various programmes like Ph.D., Bachelors Degree Programmes (BDP), Post Graduate Degree Programmes, Diploma, PG Diploma, and certificate. There total 6 Academics School of NSOU. Check the article for more detailed information.

Netaji Subhas Open University

At present, there is 120 study centre. In future, the University is planning to open more Study Centre wit thrust on “meeting the unmet” particularly the disadvantaged sector of the rural community & minority with the application of IT.

NSOU Academics

There are total 6 schools of Netaji Subhas Open University.

  • School of Humanities
  • School of Social Science
  • School of Sciences
  • Vocational Studies
  • School of Education
  • Professional Studies

NSOU Courses

NSOU offers various courses in Ph.D., Ph.D., Bachelors Degree Programmes (BDP), Post Graduate Degree Programmes, Diploma, PG Diploma, and certificate programmes. Check the courses offered in NSOU Schools

School Of Humanities

  • Ph.D.
    • To resume under UGC revised guidelines
  • Bachelor Degree Programme (BDP)
    • Bengali (EBG)
    • English (EEG)
  • Post Graduate Degree Programme (PGP)
    • Bengali (PGBG)
    • English (PGEG)
    • English Language Teaching (PGET)
  • Diploma
    • English Language Teaching (ELT)
  • PG Diploma
    • Journalism & Mass Communication (JMC)
    • Public Relation and Advertising (PR & Ad.)
  • Certificate
    • Communicative English (CE)

School of Social Sciences

  • Bachelors Degree Programmes
    • History (EHI)
    • Political Science (EPS)
    • Sociology (ESO)
    • Public Administration (EPA)
  • Post Graduate Degree Programme
    • History (PGHI)
    • Political Science (PGPS)
    • Public  Administration (PGPA0
  • Short Term Course
    • Research Methods in Social Sciences

School of Science

  • Ph.D. Programme
    • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Bachelors Degree Programme
    • Mathematics (EMT)
    • Geography (EGR)
    • Physics (EPH)
    • Zoology (EZO)
    • Chemistry (ECH)
    • Botany (EBT)
  • Post Graduate Degree Programme
    • Mathematics (PGMT)
    • Geography (PGGR)
    • Zoology (PGZO)

School of Education 

  • Bachelors Degree Programme (BDP)
    • B.Ed. (Special Education )
  • Post Graduate Programme
    • MA in Education

School of Professional Studies

  • Bachelors Degree Programmes
    • Bachelor of Commerce (B.Com. / ECO)
    • Bachelor of Economics (EEC)
  •  Post Graduate Degree Programme
    • Master of Commerce (
    • Master of Social Work (MSW)
    • Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS)
  • 2nd Degree Programme
    • Bachelor in Library and Information Science (BLIS)
  • PhD.
    • Doctor of Philosophy

School of Vocational Studies

  • Courses under School of Vocational Studies (SVS)
Courses Eligibility Duration
Post Graduate Diploma in Needle Work & Knitting Graduate (10+2+3) 2 year
Post Graduate Diploma in Hospital Front Office Management 1 year
Post Graduate Diploma in Psychological Counselling
Post Graduate Diploma in Export-Import Management
Diploma in Fire Safety and Security Management Passed in 10+2
Diploma in Pre-Primary Teachers Education (Montessori)
Tailoring & Dress Designing (Basic Course) VII 6 months
Tailoring & Dress Designing (Advance Certificate Course) Basic +X 1 year
Tailoring & Dress Designing (Advance Certificate Course) Advanced Certificate + (10+2+3) 2 years
  • Courses under the centre for Lifelong Learning (CLL)
Course Eligibility Duration
Post Graduate Diploma in Modern Office Management Graduate in 10+2+3 1 year
Post Graduate Diploma in Disaster Risk Management
Post Graduate Diploma in Travel & Tourism
Post Diploma in Retail Management
Diploma in Entrepreneurship Development & Small Business Management 10+2
Diploma in DTP and Networking Pass in class 10
Diploma in Yoga Education 10+2
Diploma in Naturopathy
Diploma in Interior Decoration
Diploma in Stress Management
Diploma in Automobile Maintenance Pass in class X
Diploma in Ac & Refrigeration Technician
Diploma in Electrical Technician
Diploma in Civil Construction Supervisor
Diploma in Automobile Sales & Marketing
Certificate in e-Accounting & Taxation with GST Pursuing Graduation 6 month
Certificate in Organic Agriculture and Horticulture 10+2
Certificate in Human Rights
Certificate Manavi-Vidya-Amra Pari (Women Empowerment) Class VIII
Land Survey Class X

NSOU Study Centre

Netaji Subhas Open University is continuing its work with 120 new Study Centres. Check the list of the Study Centre.

  • Nani Bhattacharya Smarak Mahavidyalaya
  • Alipurduar Mahila Mahavidyalaya and 118 more Study Centres.

Study Centre for BDP / PG / BLIS for Admission

Official Website:
West Bengal

LPUNEST 2019 Apply Now!!