Periyar University – was established by the government of Tamil Nadu on September 17, 1997, at Salem. The University was ranked 90th among Indian Universities by MHRD NIRD 2018. There are total 86 colleges from four districts of Tamil Nadu affiliated to Periyar University. There are total 9 Schools with 28 teaching Departments. The vision of the university is to provide vibrant aims towards excellence in education, research, promoting invention, innovation and preserving cultural identity for future generation. The University has a student amenity centre, networking facility, internet centre, bank, and post office in the campus. Check the article for more information on Periyar University.

Periyar University

The University had introduced Choice Based Credit System (CBCS) for various programmes offered by the university from 2008-09 onwards. Periyar University provides a national service scheme, student support services of the library, youth red cross, women’s welfare centre and avenues for sports and games. Periyar University offers Undergraduate, Post Graduate, PG Diploma, Professional and Certificate courses.

Periyar University: School and Departments

There are 8 teaching Schools in the university. Every School has departments that offer various courses. Check the name of Schools and Departments.

School and Department

  • School of Biosciences
    • Biochemistry
    • Biotechnology
    • Microbiology
  • School of Mathematics
    • Computer Science
    • Library and Information Science
    • Mathematics
    • Statistics
  • School of Physical Sciences
    • Physics
    • Chemistry
    • Geology
    • Energy Studies
  • School of Business Studies
    • Commerce
    • Economics
    • Periyar Institute of Management Studies
  • School of Languages
    • English
    • Tamil
  • School of Professional Studies
    • Education
    • Food Science and Nutrition
    • Textiles and Apparel Design
  • School of Social Science
    • Sociology
    • Psychology
    • Journalism and Mass Communication
    • History
  • School of Life Sciences
    • Botany
    • Zoology
    • Environmental Science
    • Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics
  • School of Physical Education
    • Physical Education

Periyar University: Programmes Offered

Students can check here the programmes offered in the University Departments.

Postgraduate Programmes

M.A. Tamil MA English
MA Economics MA Journalism and Mass Communication
MA Sociology MA Human Resource Development
M.Com M.Sc. Applied Geology
MSc Mathematics MSc Statistics
M.Sc. Physics MSc Chemistry
MSc Biochemistry MSc Food Sciences and Nutrition
MSc Clinical Nutrition and Dietetics MSc Biotechnology
M.Sc Microbiology M.Sc. Botany
M.Sc Environmental Science M.Sc. Zoology
M.Sc. Bioinformatics M.Sc. Computer Science (Self Supportive)
MCA (Aided & Self Supportive) MBA (Aided & Self Supportive)
Executive MBA M.Ed
MLIS MSc Applied Psychology

Certificate Programmes

  • Communication Excellence
  • Counselling Psychology
  • NGO Management for Social Development
  • Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
  • Library and Information Science

Periyar University: Fee Structure

Students can check the fees structure of Periyar University below.

Periyar University: Affiliated Colleges

There are total 101 colleges affiliated to Periyar University. Out of 101 colleges there 14 government colleges, 06 constituent colleges, 04 aided colleges, and 77 self-financing colleges.

Official Website:

Tamil Nadu

ATSE 2019 Scholarship Worth 12 Lac for Class 4 to Class 12 Apply Now!!