Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU) – had started from the establishment of an Agricultural School at Saidapet, Madras, Tamil Nadu, in 1869 and later relocated at Coimbatore. Tamil Nadu Agricultural University was affiliated to Madras University in 1920. Till 1946, Agricultural College and Research Institute, Coimbatore, was the only Institute for Agricultural Education for the whole of South India. It was recognized as a Postgraduate centre leading to Masters and Doctoral Degree in 1958. The Agricultural College and Research Institute were established in 1965.

The University has started a separate degree programme of B.Sc.(Horticulture) and BE(Agriculture) in 1972. A separate Faculty of Horticulture was established in 1979. At Madurai campus B.Sc. (Home Science) programme was started in 1980. In this article, students can check the complete detail of Tamil Nadu Agricultural (TNAU)

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU)

TNAU offers 13 UG, 40 PG, and 27 doctoral programmes. A new degree program B.Tech(Energy and Environmental Engineering) was started in 2004 and in 2006 B.Tech(Bioinformatics). In 2007 B.Tech (Agricultural Info. Technology) and B.S.(Agribusiness Management) programme were introdueced.

Quick Link

TNAU: Courses Offered

Tamil Nadu Agricultural University is offering 12 UG, 29 PG in colleges distributed in several campuses all over Tamil Nadu. Check the name of the courses offered at the university.

  1. Undergraduate Programme
    1. General Programs
      • B.Sc.(Agriculture)
      • B.Sc.(Horticulture)
      • B.Sc.(Forestry)
      • B.Sc.(Home Science)
      • B.Tech(Agricultural Engineering)
    2. Technology Programm
      • B.Tech (Biotechnology)
      • B.Tech(Horticulture)
      • B.Tech(Food Process Engineering)
      • B.Tech(Energy and Environmental Engineering)
      • B.Tech(Bioinformatics)
      • B.S.(Agribusiness Management)
      • B.Tech(Agricultural Information Technology)
  2. Postgraduate Programm
    1. Faculty of Agriculture
      • Agricultural Economics
      • Agricultural Entomology
      • Agricultural Extension & Rural Sociology
      • Agricultural Microbiology
      • Agronomy
      • Agricultural Meteorology
      • Biotechnology
      • Biochemical Technology
      • Bioinformatics
      • Crop Physiology
      • Environmental Sciences
      • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
      • Microbial Technology
      • Plant Breeding and Genetics
      • Plant Nematology
      • Plant Pathology
      • Seed Science and Technology
      • Sericulture
      • Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry
    2. Faculty of Horticulture
      • Fruit Science
      • Vegetable Science
      • Floriculture and Medicinal Crops
      • Spices and Plantation Crops
    3. Faculty of Forestry
      • Forestry
    4. Faculty of Agricultural Engineering
      • Agricultural Processing
      • Bioenergy
      • Farm Power and Machinery
      • Soil and Water Conservation
    5. Faculty of Home Science
      • Food Science and Nutrition

TNAU: Facilities And Restriction

Students can check the facilities provided by the university.

  • There are separate hostels for men and women are available on each campus with wifi internet connectivity
  • Students run messes on a dividing system basis
  • Library and sports facilities are available on all campuses
  • Motorcycles/car are not permitted in the campus.
  • Mobile is banned in the classroom
  • Uniform is mandatory
  • University provides library and sports facilities in all campuses

TNAU: Affiliated Colleges

There are 26 colleges affiliated to Tamil Nadu Agricultural University. Check the list of affiliated college

  1. Adhiparasakthi Agricultural College, Kalavai, Vellore
  2. Adhiparasakthi Horticulture College, Kalavai, Vellore
  3. Thanthai Roever Institute of Agriculture & Rural Development, Perambalur
  4. Vanavarayar Institute of Agriculture, Manakkadavu, Pollachi
  5. Imayam Institute of Agriculture & Technology, Kannanur, Thuraiyur, Trichy
  6. PGP College of Agricultural Sciences, Palani Nagar, Sendhamangalam Road, Namakkal
  7. RVS Agriculture College, Usilampatti, Thanjavur
  8. College of Agricultural Technology, Kullapuram, Theni
  9. Kumaraguru Institute of Agriculture, Sakthi Nagar, Erode
  10. J.K.K. Munirajah College of Agricultural Science, TN Palayam, Gobi(TK), Erode
  11. Don Bosco College of Agriculture, Takkolam, Arakonam(TK), Vellore
  12. RVS Padmavathy College of horticulture, Sembatti, Dindigul
  13. JSA College of Agriculture & Technology, Podaiyur, Tittagudi Taluk
  14. SRS Institute of Agriculture & Technology, Vedachandur, Dindigul District
  15. S. Thangapazham Agricultural College, Vasudevanallur, Tirunelveli District
  16. Sethu Bhaskara Agricultural College & Research Foundation, Visalayankottai, Karaikudi, Sivagangai District
  17. Nammazhvar College of Agriculture & Technology, Peraiyur Post, Kamuthi Tk., Ramanathapuram
  18. Adhiyamaan College of Agriculture & Research, Athimugam Village, Shoolagiri Taluk, Hosur
  19. Krishna College of Agriculture & Technology, Srirangapuram, Thoddapanaickanur BPO, Usilampatti
  20. The Indian Agricultural College, Raja Nagar, Radhapuram, Tirunelveli District
  21. Nalanda College of Agriculture, Nedungur, Trichy
  22. Aravindhar Agricultural Institute of Technology, Aravindhar Nagar, Thenpallipattu Village, Kalasapakkam Taluk, Thiruvannamalai
  23. Palar Agricultural College, Kothamarikuppam Village, Mailpatti(PO), Mailpatti (PO), Vellore
  24. Dhanalakshmi Srinivasan Agriculture College, Thuraiyur Main Road, Perambalur
  25. Mother Teresa College of Agriculture, Mettusalai, Illuppur (PO), Pudukkottai
  26. Pushkaram College of Agriculture Sciences, Veppangudi Village, Thiruvarangulam (PO), Alangudi taluk, Pudukkottai

Official Website: www.tanu.ac.in

Tamil Nadu

ATSE 2019 Scholarship Worth 12 Lac for Class 4 to Class 12 Apply Now!!